Jump to content

Tyree, Arygl, Scotland: Difference between revisions

no edit summary
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Tyree, Argyl, Scotland (#551)'''<!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->  
'''Parish&nbsp;#551'''<!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->  


== '''History'''  ==
== '''History'''  ==
Line 5: Line 5:
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; The name of this parish&nbsp;is derived from ''Tir-reidh'', (pronounced ''Tir-re''), signifying the flat or level land. The island of Coll was annexed to the parish of Tiree in 1618.&nbsp; &nbsp;Oban and Arinangour are the nearest towns. &nbsp;There are two upright stones or pillars, about six feet high, and towering upwards. Some coins have occasionally been discovered.&nbsp; The land was primarily used for,&nbsp; <br>sheep, cattle, fish, bear, oats, potatoes, pigs.&nbsp; The populatin in&nbsp;1755 was 2702.&nbsp; The population in 1841 was 5846.&nbsp; &nbsp;The registers extends back to 1775. All the parish records previous to that period were sent to Edinburgh relative to a legal process, and were lost or never returned. They have been regularly kept since 1814. &nbsp;There are two churches in the Parish. There are no Episcopalians or Catholics; but there are some Dissenters, chiefly of the Independent persuasion, and a few Baptists.<br>This account was written in 1843.  
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; The name of this parish&nbsp;is derived from ''Tir-reidh'', (pronounced ''Tir-re''), signifying the flat or level land. The island of Coll was annexed to the parish of Tiree in 1618.&nbsp; &nbsp;Oban and Arinangour are the nearest towns. &nbsp;There are two upright stones or pillars, about six feet high, and towering upwards. Some coins have occasionally been discovered.&nbsp; The land was primarily used for,&nbsp; <br>sheep, cattle, fish, bear, oats, potatoes, pigs.&nbsp; The populatin in&nbsp;1755 was 2702.&nbsp; The population in 1841 was 5846.&nbsp; &nbsp;The registers extends back to 1775. All the parish records previous to that period were sent to Edinburgh relative to a legal process, and were lost or never returned. They have been regularly kept since 1814. &nbsp;There are two churches in the Parish. There are no Episcopalians or Catholics; but there are some Dissenters, chiefly of the Independent persuasion, and a few Baptists.<br>This account was written in 1843.  


'''Source:'''''New Statistical Account of Scotland'' (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol. 7) also available online at [http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/]. &nbsp;Browse the scanned pages under 'For non-subscribers,' then search for the parish report.
'''Source:'''''New Statistical Account of Scotland'' (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol. 7) also available online at [http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/]. &nbsp;Browse the scanned pages under 'For non-subscribers,' then search for the parish report. <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->
 
<!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->


== '''Established Church—Old Parochial Registers'''  ==
== '''Established Church—Old Parochial Registers'''  ==
Line 74: Line 72:
Return to the [[Argyllshire Parishes|Argyllshire]] parish list  
Return to the [[Argyllshire Parishes|Argyllshire]] parish list  


&nbsp; <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors --><!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->
&nbsp; <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors --><!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors --><!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->
<!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->
0

edits