Itteringham with Mannington, Norfolk Genealogy: Difference between revisions

m
no edit summary
mNo edit summary
mNo edit summary
Line 1: Line 1:
== [[Image:Mannington_Chapel.jpg|thumb|right|Mannington Chapel]]History  ==
[[Image:Mannington Chapel.jpg|thumb|right]]
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
== History  ==


Itteringham St Mary with Mannington is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. St. Mary's church was probably originally Saxon before being rebuilt and enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. The tower was built later in the 14th century and the building was remodelled in the 19th Century. Before the reformation it was known as St. Agnes although we are (as yet) unaware as to why the name was changed. A chapel was also originally built on the outer wall of the chancel in the 15th century but is now ruined. The chancel has rich Jacobean panelling and the pulpit is also Jacobean, being carved with an angel of a strangely classical type. The door to the nave is still on its original hinges.  
Itteringham St Mary with Mannington is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. St. Mary's church was probably originally Saxon before being rebuilt and enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. The tower was built later in the 14th century and the building was remodelled in the 19th Century. Before the reformation it was known as St. Agnes although we are (as yet) unaware as to why the name was changed. A chapel was also originally built on the outer wall of the chancel in the 15th century but is now ruined. The chancel has rich Jacobean panelling and the pulpit is also Jacobean, being carved with an angel of a strangely classical type. The door to the nave is still on its original hinges.  
Line 5: Line 19:
The parishes of Itteringham and Mannington were consolidated into one joint benefice and one rectory on 17th March 1780 after the joint petition of Lord Walpole and the Reverend Mordaunt Leathes who both held livings in the gift of Lord Walpole. It was judged that the livings together make a moderate provision for a minister.  
The parishes of Itteringham and Mannington were consolidated into one joint benefice and one rectory on 17th March 1780 after the joint petition of Lord Walpole and the Reverend Mordaunt Leathes who both held livings in the gift of Lord Walpole. It was judged that the livings together make a moderate provision for a minister.  


Mannington Church was an estate church attached to Mannington Hall. It was of Saxon origin and like St. Mary's of Itteringham, it was enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. Sir John Goote was listed as priest in 1597. By 1800 the church was described as "disused." However it has never been deconsecrated and the 4th Earl of Orford chose to be buried in its ruins where he had created a folly garden full of old stonework and mock memorials. As recently as 1982 a baptism took place within its walls and services are still regularly held in the summer and at Christmas.
Mannington Church was an estate church attached to Mannington Hall. It was of Saxon origin and like St. Mary's of Itteringham, it was enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. Sir John Goote was listed as priest in 1597. By 1800 the church was described as "disused." However it has never been deconsecrated and the 4th Earl of Orford chose to be buried in its ruins where he had created a folly garden full of old stonework and mock memorials. As recently as 1982 a baptism took place within its walls and services are still regularly held in the summer and at Christmas.  


== Church Records  ==
== Church Records  ==
Line 11: Line 25:
This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held  
This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held  


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 439/ 1-3<br>
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 439/ 1-3<br>  


A search of the Family History Library Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication<br>
A search of the Family History Library Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication<br>  


{| cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1" style="width: 677px; height: 125px;"
{| cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1" style="width: 677px; height: 125px;"
|-
|-
| Content<br>
| Content<br>  
| Film<br>
| Film<br>
|-
|-
| Baptisms 1600-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1811 Burials 1600-1610, 1623-1629, 1665-1812 <br>
| Baptisms 1600-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1811 Burials 1600-1610, 1623-1629, 1665-1812 <br>  
| FHL BRITISH Film <br>1526780 Item 8<br><br>
| FHL BRITISH Film <br>1526780 Item 8<br><br>
|}
|}


<br>
<br>  


== Poor Law Unions ==
== Poor Law Unions ==


*Aylsham&nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Aylsham/Aylsham.shtml http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Aylsham/Aylsham.shtml]
*Aylsham&nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Aylsham/Aylsham.shtml http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Aylsham/Aylsham.shtml]


== Registration Districts ==
== Registration Districts ==


*Aylsham
*Aylsham


[[Category:Norfolk]]
[[Category:Norfolk]]
25,062

edits