Itteringham with Mannington, Norfolk Genealogy: Difference between revisions

m
Text replace - "Lewis, Samuel A." to "Samuel A. Lewis"
m (Text replace - "a.  {{British Census" to "{{British Census")
m (Text replace - "Lewis, Samuel A." to "Samuel A. Lewis")
Line 27: Line 27:
=== History  ===
=== History  ===


ITTERINGHAM (St. Mary), a '''parish,''' in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. W.) from Aylsham. The living is a discharged rectory in medieties, with that of Mannington annexed. <ref>Lewis, Samuel A., [http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51065#s23 ''A Topographical Dictionary of England''](1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.</ref><br>  
ITTERINGHAM (St. Mary), a '''parish,''' in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. W.) from Aylsham. The living is a discharged rectory in medieties, with that of Mannington annexed. <ref>Samuel A. Lewis, [http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51065#s23 ''A Topographical Dictionary of England''](1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.</ref><br>  


Itteringham St Mary with Mannington is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. St. Mary's church was probably originally Saxon before being rebuilt and enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. The tower was built later in the 14th century and the building was remodelled in the 19th Century. Before the reformation it was known as St. Agnes although we are (as yet) unaware as to why the name was changed. A chapel was also originally built on the outer wall of the chancel in the 15th century but is now ruined. The chancel has rich Jacobean panelling and the pulpit is also Jacobean, being carved with an angel of a strangely classical type. The door to the nave is still on its original hinges.  
Itteringham St Mary with Mannington is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. St. Mary's church was probably originally Saxon before being rebuilt and enlarged through the gift of Aymer de Valence in the 1200s. The tower was built later in the 14th century and the building was remodelled in the 19th Century. Before the reformation it was known as St. Agnes although we are (as yet) unaware as to why the name was changed. A chapel was also originally built on the outer wall of the chancel in the 15th century but is now ruined. The chancel has rich Jacobean panelling and the pulpit is also Jacobean, being carved with an angel of a strangely classical type. The door to the nave is still on its original hinges.  
407,336

edits