Tyree, Arygl, Scotland: Difference between revisions

m
Text replace - '. <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->' to '.'
m (Text replace - '<!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors --><!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors --><!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->' to '')
m (Text replace - '. <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->' to '.')
Line 9: Line 9:
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; The name of this parish&nbsp;is derived from ''Tir-reidh'', (pronounced ''Tir-re''), signifying the flat or level land. The island of Coll was annexed to the parish of Tiree in 1618.&nbsp; &nbsp;Oban and Arinangour are the nearest towns. &nbsp;There are two upright stones or pillars, about six feet high, and towering upwards. Some coins have occasionally been discovered.&nbsp; The land was primarily used for,&nbsp; <br>sheep, cattle, fish, bear, oats, potatoes, pigs.&nbsp; The populatin in&nbsp;1755 was 2702.&nbsp; The population in 1841 was 5846.&nbsp; &nbsp;The registers extends back to 1775. All the parish records previous to that period were sent to Edinburgh relative to a legal process, and were lost or never returned. They have been regularly kept since 1814. &nbsp;There are two churches in the Parish. There are no Episcopalians or Catholics; but there are some Dissenters, chiefly of the Independent persuasion, and a few Baptists.<br>This account was written in 1843.  
&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; The name of this parish&nbsp;is derived from ''Tir-reidh'', (pronounced ''Tir-re''), signifying the flat or level land. The island of Coll was annexed to the parish of Tiree in 1618.&nbsp; &nbsp;Oban and Arinangour are the nearest towns. &nbsp;There are two upright stones or pillars, about six feet high, and towering upwards. Some coins have occasionally been discovered.&nbsp; The land was primarily used for,&nbsp; <br>sheep, cattle, fish, bear, oats, potatoes, pigs.&nbsp; The populatin in&nbsp;1755 was 2702.&nbsp; The population in 1841 was 5846.&nbsp; &nbsp;The registers extends back to 1775. All the parish records previous to that period were sent to Edinburgh relative to a legal process, and were lost or never returned. They have been regularly kept since 1814. &nbsp;There are two churches in the Parish. There are no Episcopalians or Catholics; but there are some Dissenters, chiefly of the Independent persuasion, and a few Baptists.<br>This account was written in 1843.  


'''Source:'''''New Statistical Account of Scotland'' (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol. 7) also available online at [http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/]. &nbsp;Browse the scanned pages under 'For non-subscribers,' then search for the parish report. <!-- Tidy found serious XHTML errors -->
'''Source:'''''New Statistical Account of Scotland'' (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol. 7) also available online at [http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/]. &nbsp;Browse the scanned pages under 'For non-subscribers,' then search for the parish report.


= '''Census Records''' =
= '''Census Records''' =
oversight
2,543

edits