Colnbrook, Middlesex Genealogy: Difference between revisions

From FamilySearch Wiki
(template)
 
No edit summary
Line 1: Line 1:
[[England]]  [[Image:Gotoarrow.png]]  [[Middlesex]]  
[[England]]  [[Image:Gotoarrow.png]]  [[Middlesex]]  
== Parish History  ==
== Parish History  ==
COLNBROOK, a small town and a chapelry on the mutual border of Middlesex and Bucks. The town stands on the river Colne, 2 miles S of Langley r. station, and 4¼ N by W of Staines; and has a post office‡ under Slough. It dates from very early times; was incorporated in 1543; had long a weekly market; and still has fairs on 5 April and 16 Oct. A railway through it, from the Great Western at West Drayton to the Southwestern at Staines, was authorised in 1866. The chapelry is in the parishes of Stanwell, Horton, and Langley-Marsh. Pop., 1, 196. Houses, 245. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Oxford. Value, £183. Patron, the Bishop of O. The church was built in 1869. There are a Baptist chapel, public rooms, and two public schools.
[From: ''Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales'' by John M. Wilson; published about 1870]
Contributor: Add a general overview of the history of this parish. It can be a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs.<br>  
Contributor: Add a general overview of the history of this parish. It can be a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs.<br>  
== Resources  ==
== Resources  ==

Revision as of 10:19, 19 April 2010

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex

Parish History[edit | edit source]

COLNBROOK, a small town and a chapelry on the mutual border of Middlesex and Bucks. The town stands on the river Colne, 2 miles S of Langley r. station, and 4¼ N by W of Staines; and has a post office‡ under Slough. It dates from very early times; was incorporated in 1543; had long a weekly market; and still has fairs on 5 April and 16 Oct. A railway through it, from the Great Western at West Drayton to the Southwestern at Staines, was authorised in 1866. The chapelry is in the parishes of Stanwell, Horton, and Langley-Marsh. Pop., 1, 196. Houses, 245. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Oxford. Value, £183. Patron, the Bishop of O. The church was built in 1869. There are a Baptist chapel, public rooms, and two public schools.

[From: Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales by John M. Wilson; published about 1870]

Contributor: Add a general overview of the history of this parish. It can be a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.